Follow by Email

Saturday, February 4, 2012

UC Riverside’s 35th annual celebration of writers and writing!

For all those who live close by or are interested in any of the following authors are welcomed to go! You will probably find me there!

Tuesday, Feb. 7 — 1 p.m., novelist Charmaine Craig, author of “The Good Men” and visiting assistant professor; 2:30 p.m., novelist Ben Ehreneich, author of “Ether” and “The Suitors,” and winner of the 2011 National Magazine Award for feature writing; 4 p.m., Michael Jaime-Beccera, associate professor of creative writing at UCR and author of “Every Night is Ladies’ Night” and “This Time Tomorrow,” whose work has won the International Latino Book Award and California Book Award; and 5 p.m., novelist Susan Straight (Stephen Minot Memorial Reading), distinguished professor of creative writing at UCR and winner of the 2008 Edgar Award for Best Mystery Story, finalist for the 2001 National Book Award, and finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. Her most recent novel, “Take One Candle Light a Room,” was named one of the best novels of 2010 by the Washington Post, Los Angeles Times and Kirkus.
Wednesday, Feb. 8 — 1 p.m., author of the Maisie Dobbs mystery series Jacqueline Winspear, winner of the Agatha Award for Best Novel, the Sue Feder Award for Best Historical Mystery and the Bruce Alexander Memorial Award for Best Historical Mystery; 2:30 p.m., Pushcart Prize winner B.H. Fairchild, author of “The Art of the Lathe” and “Early Occult Memory Systems of the Lower Midwest,” whose work also has won the Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award, the National Book Critics Circle Award and the Bobbitt Award from the Library of Congress for the most distinguished book of poems published in the previous two years; 4 p.m., poet Bonnie Bolling (Distinguished Alumni Reading), author of “In the Kingdom of the Sons,” winner of the 2011 Liam Rector Poetry Prize; and 5 p.m., Pushcart Prize winner Frank Gaspar, author of “Leaving Pico” and “Stealing Fatima,” and winner of a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship in Literature, a California Arts Council Fellowship in poetry, and the California Book Award for First Fiction.
Thursday, Feb. 9 — 1 p.m., poet Christine Kitano (Distinguished Alumni Reading), author of “Birds of Paradise”; 2:30 p.m., poet Derek McKown, author of “Arrows in Hand”; 4 p.m., poet Mark Jarman, author of “Bone Fires: New and Selected Poems,” “The Secret of Poetry” and “Body and Soul: Essays on Poetry,” and winner of the Lenore Marshall Prize, the Poets’ Prize and a Guggenheim Fellowship in poetry; and 5 p.m., poet Garrett Hongo, author of three books of poetry, three anthologies and “Volcano: A Memoir of Hawai’i.” Hongo has won a Guggenheim Fellowship, two NEA grants and the Lamont Poetry Prize from the Academy of American Poets.

Diane Wakoski
Friday, Feb. 10 — 1 p.m., readings by poet Alexander Long, a seven-time nominee for a Pushcart Prize and author of “Still Life,” which won the White Pine Press Poetry Prize for 2011, and the chapbook “Still Life,” which won the 2010 Center for Book Arts Chapbook Competition; 2:30 p.m., 2:30 p.m., poet Polly Bee, author of “Scattershot”; 4 p.m., poet and artist Gary Young, the recipient of a Pushcart Prize and author of several collections of poetry, among them James D. Phelan Award-winner “The Dream of a Moral Life”; and 7:30 p.m., Diane Wakoski, whose poetry has appeared in more than 20 collections and many slim volumes of poetry.  Her selected poems, “Emerald Ice,” won the William Carlos Williams Prize from the Poetry Society of America in 1989.

For more information:

No comments:

Post a Comment